Total newbie can't change font style of *part* of page name

Author Posts

Dominique

Hi Sebastian,
I’m a total newbie to both designing a website and Microthemer, so could you please explain in simple, and detailed language [sorry!].
I’m using Firefox, and Weaver Xtreme theme.
I’m trying to change the font style of only part of some webpage titles, but can’t work out how to. If you look at this page: http://dominiquewilson.com.au/summary_tdm/ , I’d like the title of the book to be in italics. Same with other page titles that mention book titles on my site. But when I double click on that section in Microthemer, I can’t get to just the book title, ie: the whole page title is highlighted. How do I edit just a section of it, please?
Thank you in advance for you time.

Sebastian

Microthemer can only target content separately if it has been separated with HTML tags. Much of the content on your page already has the appropriate HTML tags to separate the pieces of content. But you want fine segmentation of a sentence. And so you will need to manually add the HTML tags yourself.

In WordPress, go to your summary of That Devil’s Madness page. Change the page title from:

summary of That Devil’s Madness

To

summary of <span>That Devil’s Madness</span>

Save the page and return to Microthemer. Now when you double-click the That Devil’s Madness text, Microthemer will be able to target it separately.

I hope that helps!
Sebastian

Dominique

Thanks for the quick reply, Sebastian – it’s much appreciated!
That did work to separate those words from the page title, however, when I click on that section in the page heading in themeover, it now also targets all the text in the rest of the page below, not just those three words. Yet I made sure that only those three words were highlighted when I created a selector for this. What am I doing wrong please?

Sebastian