Speeding up workflows + margins/paddings madness

Author Posts

digwr7

Hey, Sebastian and TO team!

I am currently designing a completely custom membership site with MT and I find myself doing a lot of repetitive work. Please, note that I am relatively new to CSS and a couple of the following questions may sound silly for more advanced members… (As a matter of fact, I learned a LOT in very little time just by using MT… quite an awesome way to further understand CSS by doing stuff without actually doing them!)

So, here’s what I’m having trouble with:

1- I have 2 menus that show up across multiple pages simultaneously (the main navigation and another in the side bar) and I need to style them differently.

So, if I create a selector for higher hierarchical elements within the menu, the styles gets applied to both menus, which is unwanted…

Most of the time I find myself having to create a selector from the very specific element I’m targeting (the lowest possible level) which acts only at the page level, which means that all styles will be applied only for that particular page.

As I said, both menus are displayed across several pages so having to do it over and over again almost seems like I’m doing something wrong… There must be an easier way to do this, right?

Can I reuse previously created selectors somehow? That would speed the process immensely!

Even when working on a single page this kind of thing happens, for example, when I had to style manually every single item on the sidebar menu (which was a long “lesson” menu) and multiplying by 4 all the work, as I had to set styles for hover, active and visited menu links…

Again, I couldn’t select the whole menu as I’m working with 2 menus and if I do that the styles are applied to both…

2- Another problem I’m having is regarding the side bar menu and, here’s the thing: