Styling the nav bar help

Author Posts

Brian67_

Hi

I have just signed up and have been using CSSHero.

I only really use CSSHero for styling the nav bars of my sites.

Im still a novice and need help to style this nav bar http://www.bailiffresponseteam.info/impoundedcars/

So far i have managed to change the background to black but i will need to style it like i have here on another of my sites http://www.focusma.co.uk

Is there a video or can someone take me through the process please

Regards
Brian

Abland

Hi, Brian,

This starter video is really good for all levels of designers:
https://themeover.com/quick-start-microthemer-video-tutorial/

In looking at your themes the hover and active values you want to get to are:

.fl-page .fl-page-nav-wrap .navbar-nav > li > a:hover,
.fl-page .fl-page-nav-wrap .navbar-nav > li.current-menu-item > a {
    background-color: rgba(255,216,6,1) !important;
}

On a side note, I got the page builder but was curious how you liked the bb theme?

Sebastian

Hi Brian,

Your post just reminded me of your email. I’m sorry I didn’t reply to that right away. Your request for a tutorial on styling WP menus was well received. I started working on a scaffold for WP menus to make this as easy as possible but then got distracted and forgot that I hadn’t replied to you.

Ablands advice for styling the dropdown menu is good. I see that the site you’re currently working on doesn’t have a dropdown bit in the main menu right now though. For giving the menu a full width black background and styling the font the same, try this:

1. Double-click the area just to the left of the menu links to target the wrapper element for the nav menu. See the red circle here: https://docs.google.com/a/themeover.com/file/d/0B2vCpmXg7Sjlbk9yMENTOXhIV2s/edit?usp=drivesdk

2. Open the advanced options on the selector wizard (top right) and then drag the targeting slider down to the option that just says:

div.fl-page-nav-wrap